Project Stakeholders

A project stakeholder is any individual or business that has interest in the study or the project. Stakeholders for the Local Preliminary Engineering Study include: elected officials, community leaders, property owners, members of the public, local businesses, Toms River Board of Education, the New Jersey Turnpike Authority, neighborhood associations, and civic and cultural groups. 

Environmental Justice (EJ)

Environmental Justice is the fair treatment and meaningful involvement of all people regardless of race, color, national origin or income, with respect to the development, implementation and enforcement of environmental laws, regulations and policies.


The Federal Highway Administration is an agency within the U.S. Department of Transportation that supports state and local governments in the design, construction and maintenance of the nation’s highway system (Federal Aid Highway Program) and various federally and tribal owned lands (Federal Lands Highway Program). Through financial and technical assistance to state and local governments, the Federal Highway Administration is responsible for ensuring that America’s roads and highways continue to be among the safest and most technologically sound in the world.


The Local Capital Project Delivery Process is a competitive program which provides funding to NJTPA Sub regions – the 15 city and county members of the NJTPA – to prepare proposed transportation projects for eventual construction with federal funding.

Local Officials

Local Officials for the Local Concept Development Study include: mayors; freeholders; administrators; township engineer; first responders such as emergency medical technicians, police officers and fire fighters; and representatives from the local school district. 

Ocean County

Ocean County is located along the coast of New Jersey and is 50 miles east of Philadelphia and 70 miles south of New York City. It is New Jersey’s sixth largest county.


Metropolitan Planning Organizations represent localities in all urbanized areas with populations over 50,000 and are required by the federal government to conduct transportation planning and allocate federal transportation funding to address regional needs.


The National Environmental Policy Act was signed into law on January 1, 1970, and requires federal agencies to assess the environmental effects of their proposed actions prior to making decisions.


The New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection is a government agency that manages natural resources and solves pollution problems in the State of New Jersey.


The New Jersey Department of Transportation is responsible for maintaining and operating New Jersey State’s highway and public road system, planning and developing transportation policy and assisting with rail, freight and intermodal transportation issues.

New Jersey Turnpike Authority
The New Jersey Turnpike Authority (NJTA) oversees the operations of two of New Jersey’s toll roads – the New Jersey Turnpike and the Garden State Parkway.

The North Jersey Transportation Planning Authority is the federally authorized Metropolitan Planning Organization for the 13-county northern New Jersey region and includes the cities of Newark and Jersey City. Each year, they oversee over $2 billion in transportation improvement projects and provide a forum for interagency cooperation and public input.

Project Team

The project team is composed of members representing Ocean County, NJTPA, NJDOT Local Aid, NJDOT Bureau of Environmental Program Resources (BEPR), GPI (the prime consultant design engineering firm) and other supporting consulting firms for engineering, environmental, cultural and community involvement support.


A State Historic Preservation Office is a state governmental function created by the United States federal government in 1966 under Section 101 of the National Historic Preservation Act (NHPA) that administers a variety of programs that offer protection for historic properties. Responsibilities include surveying and recognizing historic properties, reviewing nominations for properties to be included in the National Register of Historic Places, reviewing undertakings for the impact on the properties as well as supporting federal organizations, state and local governments and private sector.

Title VI

Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 prohibits discrimination based upon race, color and national origin.